The Power of a Blog – Ending Slavery

As we must account for every idle word, so must we account for every idle silence.
- Benjamin Franklin

There are dozens of ways that I wanted to start this post, but the most honest opening is to admit that I don’t really know how to start. So I just will:

An estimated 27 million people are held in slavery – right now.

27,000,000 – That’s more than the population of the top 13 cities in the US combined (1).

Staggering.

There are three problems with a statistic like that:

  1. 27 million is a number that is hard to imagine.
  2. The idea of people being enslaved doesn’t seem possible; especially because it’s not right here in front of us – we’re all so far removed from the slavery we read about in history books that it doesn’t mean much to us as a society any more.
  3. Even if we can wrap our heads around the situation, how could you and I ever have an impact on a problem that is so monumental?
While I can’t do much for the first problem, I have two simple ideas that will help with the other two issues.

1. Learn about modern day slavery

This is the internet, you can find information on everything and this is one of the most important Google searches I think you’ll ever do. (Here’s a good place to start: http://www.ijm.org/our-work/injustice-today)

2. Do whatever you can to help

My motivation for writing this post is to give you a place to start, one that I think will make a world of difference. There is a letter being sent to President Obama asking him to stand up for freedom. They need 27,000 signatures and I am one of them. You should be, too.

Sign Your Name Stand For Freedom

Leave me a comment after you sign the letter and let me know why you decided to stand for freedom.

 1. Wikipedia - List of United States cities by population

Comments

